be_ixf;ym_202007 d_08; ct_50

Beacon Trauma Services

Beacon Trauma Services has the privilege to provide exemplary trauma care to the community of northern Indiana and southern Michigan. We serve as the district resource for trauma care standards and education. To transfer a patient call 866.262.4247.

Beacon Trauma Services consists of two world-class facilities: Memorial Hospital and Elkhart General Hospital.

As the only level II trauma center in the region verified by the American College of Surgeons (ACS), Memorial Hospital provides definitive care for all injured patients and acts as a resource in trauma care to other hospitals. As a level II center, Memorial offers:

  • 24-hour immediate coverage by general surgeons, as well as other specialties including orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, emergency medicine, radiology and critical care
  • Tertiary care needs such as cardiothoracic surgery, hemodialysis and micro vascular surgery
  • Trauma prevention programs and continuing education programs for staff and the community
  • Comprehensive quality assessment program
  • Injury prevention efforts with an active outreach program for referring communities

Elkhart General Hospital has begun the process to become a level III trauma center by the ACS in 2018. As the first level III facility in the region, Elkhart General has demonstrated an ability to provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care and stabilization of injured patients. As a level III center, Elkhart General offers:

  • 24-hour immediate coverage of emergency medicine and the prompt availability of general surgery and anesthesiology
  • Comprehensive quality assessment program
  • Transfer agreements for patients requiring more comprehensive or complex care at a Level I or Level II center
  • Back up care for rural and community hospitals
  • Continued education of nursing and allied health professional, as well as trauma team


Elkhart General Hospital


600 East Boulevard
Elkhart IN, 46514

Open 24 Hours
Visitor Restrictions are in place in accordance with the CDC and Indiana state guidelines.
General Visiting Hours: 10 a.m.-7:00 p.m.
Patient Registration Hours: M-F 4:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | Sat. 6:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.